ENGLISH
PORTUGUESE
 LINGUISTICS & CULTURE

Autor:  Wellintgon Peixoto Santos
E-mail:  wpeixoto@uol.com.br
Data:  06/JUN/2003 11:26 AM
Assunto:  Wrong way...

Mensagem:  Hi everyone!

I have been taking in the contents of this forum and site for some time now, but have never really participated, and I believe I do have something to contribute with here... I have never studied English in a regular school before. I started studying by myself since I was a kid. I like to say that everything started with “Casper” the friendly ghost and the songs in the cartoon with that little ball bouncing on the lyrics. I would try to sing along and obviously couldn´t, then I would cry my heart out and ask my mom why I couldn´t do it and she would tell me that it was a foreigner language and that when I grew up I could enroll in an English school for, at the time they couldn´t afford to pay for one. Well, in my mind I just couldn´t wait for that. Then, I started to study by myself in a very particular way and “method”, which was... reading... I read, and read and read, and none of it was grammar books, but everything I could grab from whodunit detective pocket books to magazines and newspapers, most of them bought from “sebos” here in São Paulo (I was about 9 years old by then). After a while (quite a while) I became quite fluent in written English, reading and pronouncing everything in “my way” (I was 11 then)!! If someone would write “the cat white” I would tell them it was wrong, but I didn´t know why... It just didn´t “look” right. That´s when I discovered “short waves” and my English world crumbled down...!! I used to listen to the “Voice of America” broadcasting from Washington DC. Well, of course I couldn´t understand a single word and right there I found out I was doing something quite wrong. But I wouldn´t give up... I would stay up until three in the morning, sometimes four, listening to the radio and never stopped reading. Then, someday, just like magic I “began” understandi