[  EMB's Main Menu  |  Forum Index  |  Cadastro  |  Search  ]

ENGLISH
PORTUGUESE
 LINGUISTICS & CULTURE

Autor:  Fabio Araujo
E-mail:  bibiuaraujo@yahoo.com.br
Data:  23/OUT/2003 12:28 PM
Assunto:  Thank you guys!!!

Mensagem:  Hi folks from EMB! I would just like to express my admiration about the excellent job that you guys develop. Some weeks ago I was surfing on the net and I found your web site. I think I've spent almost one week going through all the content, which in my opinion its very interesting. I've printed almost all the pages. Lots of interesting tips and explanations... Very nice indeed... One of the things that I've found best, was the theory of language acquisition and language learning, because it explains just what I fell about "my English". I have been attending to English classes for almost three years and if you ask me about grammar points like "what is the construction of past perferct?" or "when I have to use the present continuous?" I would say "I have no idea!" hahahahah. Hearing this, most people (including my teachers) would say that I've been sleeping during my English classes hahahaha, but the point is: "What is interesting to me? Learn the English grammar or learn how to communicate in English?" Of course I should try to learn both, but for me this is impossible. I hate grammar, even the Portuguese grammar. So that's what I do, when I want to communicate in English... I just try to remember of things that I've read and listened in some place and I put everything together... Language Aquisition in other words. Of course you will find grammar and spelling mistakes on my texts, but in general its quite possible to understand what I mean. So for me it was a relief to know that some people like you guys, stimulate this kind of learning... The "natural way" of learning. At the English schools I've studied (Wizard, CNA and now Wall Street), I'm famous for being a trouble maker, because when I dont agree with some method or some excercise I r